Unforgiveness

Unforgiveness is like drinking poison and hoping the other person dies.

I can’t remember who says it, but I read that yesterday and I thought, “Wow… That’s a great quote…” We all have someone that has wounded us. And we all have someone where, when their name is mentioned, we cringe and become short and irritated. Believe me, I know I have a few of those that have hurt me. And it’s taken me a few years, maybe more like a decade, to struggle with forgiving them. It’s not an easy thing, and I still struggle with giving my anger and my hurt to God. I’ve had it for so long now… It’s part of me. So that’s what I’m going to work on this week. I’m going to work on my heart and my bitterness towards those that have shaped it the wrong way. Pray for me in this endeavor.

Matthew 18:21-22 says:

Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, “Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother when he sins against me? Up to seven times?” Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.”

Leave a Reply

